cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Regarding location on upwork if you travel frequently

Jaideep S Member Since: Feb 9, 2017
1 of 19

Hi there,

I've become active on here again and looking to expand.
I'm an electronics designer and I offer the same services on upwork as well.

Now my question is, I wanted to verify my ID for the badge and all but saw that they need address verification.

I travel frequently between countries. Mainly between Canada and India.
I'm currently in Canada and so have set my location to here, however my bank is in India and so my billing address is set to that.

My question is, what's the correct approach to setting my location in a case like this?

Since my work involves receiving and sending out prototypes of projects by post, I use the postal system of whatever country I'm currently in and set my location to the country I'm in so it's easier for me to work with local clients.

Please let me know if i'm doing anything wrong and if there's a correct approach to a case like this. I plan to live the digital nomad lifestyle in the future so my travels will only keep increasing.

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 19

Jaideep:

But here are the rules:

You need to set your location for where you really live.

Don't try to fake it. Upwork works hard to find people who are faking it.

Upwork is NOT the travel police.

If you travel, Upwork does not want you to notify them or change your location on your profile.

If you move to a different place, then you need to update the location on your profile.

You're going to have to decide some of this for yourself, because Upwork is not going to provide specific numbers. Upwork is not going to tell you how many days it is before "travelling" becomes "you live somewhere." But YOU know the difference.