🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Register with no formal education
Page options
21b8b210
Community Member

Register with no formal education

Is it possible to register as a freelancer with no formal higher education? I have over 20 years of experience with 12 years working in enterprise level companies. Am I disqulified from Upwork because I don't have a formal education? If I try to skip the education section it tells me I won't be able to register until I complete the education section.

I've searched the community and I understand that a degree isn't required, just the school. I've never attended a college or university so I have nothing to put in the school field.

9 REPLIES 9
prestonhunter
Community Member

Joe:

Nobody cares.

Or almost nobody cares.

If there is no school, then leave it blank. Or put in your high school. Or "available upon request."

Upwork clients want somebody who can help them accomplish specific tasks. Very few of them look at the education section or care about it.

I believe you are missing the question.  Upwork doesn't let you finish the profile without listing your higher education.  I am running into the same problem.  Being self-taught and havning no higher education to list, upwork is not letting me complete the profile.

I have the same question.  Is there any way to complete the profile without listing a degree?

Hi Richard,

Did you undergo any training? If you did, you can include that information and add details about the company in which the training took place.

~ Joanne
Upwork

There seems to be a problem with the form not accepting schools that are not in the list.  It says you can add a new school, but doesn't actually accept new schools.  This makes it difficult to add the unofficial education.

Hi Alexander,