🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Renegotiating salary later on
Page options
d7a2fa1f
Community Member

Renegotiating salary later on

Hello there!

I'm a newbie and have a full time work currently but I'm looking into building up a portfolio here and possibly moving to this space in general.

I was reached out to with a good salary with the request to try a partnership first, which I'm very happy about.

I offered in exchange below clients budget in order to get the job, avoid future conflicts if it doesn't work out and in general, that the client won't feel overpaid for a newbie trial of mine 😄I'm mostly worried of this because of my current job.

if things do work out, how does renegotiating the term look like and especially here. Both in terms of soft aspects (how to communicate and negotiate this) and both in term of hard aspects, meaning the technicality here. Would we need to cancel current contract and start a new one? 

any help is much appreciated as I'm new in this space.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "if things do work out, how does renegotiating the term look like and especially here. Both in terms of soft aspects (how to communicate and negotiate this)"

That is up to you.

Upwork offers no guidance about that.

re: "and both in term of hard aspects, meaning the technicality here. Would we need to cancel current contract and start a new one?"

A client can click a button to increase your hourly rate at any time:

https://support.upwork.com/hc/en-us/articles/211062378-Change-Your-Freelancer-s-Hourly-Rate

Or the client can simply close a contract and create a new contract with a higher hourly rate.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "if things do work out, how does renegotiating the term look like and especially here. Both in terms of soft aspects (how to communicate and negotiate this)"

That is up to you.

Upwork offers no guidance about that.