🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Reporting a Suspicious Client
Page options
sebastianmoncada
Community Member

Reporting a Suspicious Client

Hi, I started working with **Edited for community guidelines** a couple days back.

It was for a post that is no longer available, where he is offering a large amount of money for relatively simple work (it's more than the ordinary - $2,800 usd). I'm new to Upwork so I took the bait and started working for him.

First he asked me to consult his logo as a "test", since I didn't know this isn't what you do, I told him what I thought.

Then he offered me a contract, but he refused to fund the milestones related to work he was asking. This was a $2,800 job and he funded a $5 "start" milestone and a $2795 "end". I asked him to change it but he refused and I left with a bad impression of him but decided to work.

Then some red flags started to pop, he said he would have his "brother" send over an invite for the contract because he was responsible for hiring, so he sent me a contract through another profile called

**Edited for community guidelines** but it didn't specify anything about the job description except for "you agreed upon terms with our CEO". This was sketchy.

I looked at their profile, and they where offering huge amounts of money and where interviewing a ton of people (even though I already had the job) and the job wasn't closed because it was opened through another profile.

Also, they wanted me to work through "google drive" so they could see my development. Which I guess they just wanted to steal without pay.

I checked at their profile and they currently have 5 jobs posted 0% hire rate and in the second about 15 jobs posted, several hires but no amount of money payed. - Redflag again.

When working, he asked me several times for my opinions on somewhat related work, but not what he had hired me to do. We talked for a large chunk of the day, him constantly asking me for advice.