🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Reporting a client/scam after job post remove...
Page options
cef9d234
Community Member

Reporting a client/scam after job post removed

I received a response from a client who wanted to set up a meeting via phone before moving forward. I provided the info, however, something told me this could be a scam after I reread her response to me.  I tried to go back to the job posting, but she took it down. This happened to me before when I tried to report another potential client. 

Is there a way to report someone when they take a job posting down? I am fairly new to this. I am trying to avoid having to go directly to support like I had to do the last time.  I kept all my documentation and proposal etc and I have her name and picture as well. 

In the meantime, if you see a posting about general virtual admin work and you receive a response from **edited for Community Guidelines**, please report her and the job before she removes the posting.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Gumuruh Samudra S wrote:

most of the time they're doing some try & test over the job's board... i mean on that page.
Once many applicants are coming, and they saw a perfect candidate. They have the ability to close the project, even just for hit & run. 

I saw many of the clients similar to this behaviour.
sad to say but yes. they're exist.

Yes, clients can close a project, but scammers don't - they want to get as many victims as possible. If a project like that is closed, it's because another freelancer recognised that they were dealing with a scammer, reported it, and Upwork closed the job. Scammers will always ask for your contact information so that they can continue to scam you away from Upwork; they know that their jobs will be taken down fairly quickly. That's why you're not allowed to discuss projects off of Upwork before you have a contract here. 

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
feed_my_eyes
Community Member