🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Request for upwork to add "Bid closing date" ...
Page options
92a1c93d
Community Member

Request for upwork to add "Bid closing date" and "Bid Awarding date"

I am new to upwork and coming from a background of bidding and contracting systems, I noticed the following elements missing in the upwork process: 1. Bid Closing Date 2. Bid Awarding Date

Without these, those who post jobs do not have any incentive or "pressure" to do their part in making a decision and awarding the job. Some job posters do not even bother to check if there have been submissions to their job postings. It puts job seekers in an unfair situation where they do not know what has happened.

For example, I applied for a job that was posted 21 days ago. Upwork shows that the job poster checked on the status 19 days ago. 10 to 15 proposals went to the job poster. Zero interviews. Zero invites.

If job posters are unable to make a decision on the Bid Award date, then the job posting should be closed by upwork and the job poster need to create (pay for) an entirely new job posting. If job posters need to extend the Bid Award Date, they should pay an additional fee to upwork.

Now since I am not a job poster, I do not know if these systems are actually in place but I observe as a job seeker that I have to physically check upwork every now and then ... to see what the status of the jobs are.

With the addition of these 2 fields in the upwork system, engagement between job posters ands job seekers will be more professional.

12 REPLIES 12
yofazza
Community Member

They don't want to apply any 'pressure' to the client when they have one client and ten freelancers (the comparison might not accurate but it should be something like that).

They will pressure the freelancers instead, and 'squeeze' money from them to cover the cost of providing powerful servers because only one of them will generate fees, am I right?

92a1c93d
Community Member

Hello Radia,