🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Request of "Security Fee", by the client.
Page options
crish750
Community Member

Request of "Security Fee", by the client.

I am a freelancer. I noticed that recently there are several Data entry job posts published at Upwork, from various countries. I submitted my proposals for few and without any delay they replied through Upwork message, requesting me to contact them on Telegram. When I contact, they asked my name, country and few formal questions. Then offered 4 projects and requested me to select one. After selecting, they requested me to pay a "Security Fee" / "Library card Fee" etc. ( relevant document attached ). I understand that according to the rules and regulations of Upwork, the cliant cannot request or accept any fee from the person, who accept his job. So my question is, why Upwork allow these type of job posts, to be published on Upwork? On the other way, we are just wasting our connects. Can anyone give me an answer to this, please.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
roberty1y
Community Member

If it's any consolation, you get your connects back on fake jobs like these. The "security fee" is a gullibility tax. Those foolish enough to pay it will never see it again nor hear from the "client".

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
roberty1y
Community Member

If it's any consolation, you get your connects back on fake jobs like these. The "security fee" is a gullibility tax. Those foolish enough to pay it will never see it again nor hear from the "client".

Hello, do you know how we get the connects back? It's automatic after a job offer is put down? Or do we have to request it?, I've wasted like 25% of my connects in this scams 😞 

You'll get the connects back automatically when Upwork learns that the job is a scam and removes it.

pgiambalvo
Community Member