🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Requesting refund on credits for blocked prop...
Page options
splivy1
Community Member

Requesting refund on credits for blocked proposals

I'm requesting a refund for all the proposals I submitted this year. I have 20 years of high-tech PR experience working for some of the most well known startups and household name brands. At first I thought my hourly rate was too high ($60 to $85), which is why no one was responding back (except for one employer). I then decided to drop my hourly rate to sometimes $10 an hour, and still no response to my proposals. I'm not even sure if I offered to volunteer for the job I would get a response back. Either these employers are not hiring anyone for the jobs they're listing or my proposals are not actually being delivered to them. It's one of the two. If an experienced Silicon Valley and DC pro can't even get invited for an interview with an hourly rate exponentially lower than what the employer has listed then something is awry. I welcome responses back.

10 REPLIES 10
feed_my_eyes
Community Member

Freelancing requires sales skills in addition to expertise and experience. Your proposals weren't blocked; it's more likely that whatever you're been saying didn't make you stand out from your competitors or convince clients that you were going to solve their problems. There's plenty of advice about how to market yourself and craft effective proposals if you read the many resources that Upwork offers.

It's also possible that your initial hourly rate was too high (I'm not familiar with pricing for your industry), but dropping it to $10 could have had the reverse effect of making clients think that somebody who charges so little must not know what they're doing.

The price that you pay for connects is for the opportunity to propose to clients; if you used your connects to bid on projects, then you got what you paid for. As far as I'm aware, Upwork doesn't offer any refunds for used connects.