🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Retaining some of Intellectual Property right...
Page options
formnlicht
Community Member

Retaining some of Intellectual Property rights as a creative seller

Dear fellow freelancers,

I am an interior and lighting designer, and it can happen that I work for other designers through Upwork. I would like to include what I design here on Upwork in my design portfolio, website and social media, but I have noticed that unless stated otherwise, all IP rights belong to client after the payment is completed. Do you have any clause to include in the contract, so that I can prevent my clients to showcase my designs under their own name or to encourage them to make reference to me anytime they present or publish a building/space/visual that is fully or partially designed by me?

Thanks a lot in advance for your comments and tips!

Ehsan 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Ehsan B wrote:

Hi Petra, and thank you for your reply. How can I request that, or better to say where can I include that request? As far as I know, I am not able to offer a contract to client on Upwork and all I can do is to accept the contract the client offer me. Thanks!

It is something you discuss with clients right at the very beginning of the interview process so you are not wasting your and the client's time. You can then write an agreement (which is purely between you and the client, nothing to do with Upwork) and send it through messages. Note that this agreement doesn't replace anything in the terms of service other than the optional service terms. Everything about it is between you and the client and Upwork don't get involved in it.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
petra_r
Community Member

You can request that of course, and have an agreement between the client and yourself (in writing) that says so. Upwork would NOT enforce such an agreement though.

I would expect you to lose many contracts over that though.