🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Ridiculous Opt Out fee
Page options
chineseteacher
Community Member

Ridiculous Opt Out fee

I have a client that I have been working with on and off for about 6 months.

I have earned a TOTAL of $6000 over the past 6 months.

There is the opportunity for me to focus on this client and increase my workload if I am able to work directly with the client so I inquired about the opt out fee.

Upwork replied the opt out fee would be over $18,000 !!!!

How is this crazy figure calculated ?  Of course I will never take this opt out and continue to work through upwork as before.  Based on the previous 6 months of $6000 that's an average upwork fee of $100 per month.  Therefore if I continue at the same rate of work upwork will earn a TOTAL of $2400 or so over the 2 years after which I am free to leave upwork.

The minimum opt out fee is $3500 as stated in the terms.

So if I don't take the increased workload and continue as before upwork will earn $2400 from me

If they want to offer the $3500 opt out then I would consider it.  Upwork would earn an ADDITIONAL $1100, but instead they want to try to make $18,000 which will never happen.

As a result everyone will lose out.  Why ?

Is there anyone at upwork who is smart and can see the advantage of allowing me to take the $3500 opt out ?

If not then I will just continue as before and upwork will continue to earn a measily $100 a month or so.  Everyone loses

25 REPLIES 25
gilbert-phyllis
Community Member

Why does increasing your workload with this client depend on not working through Upwork? That's a strange condition.

The opt-out fee is structured to discourage people from leaving the platform. That is the only way UW can hope to turn a profit and stay in business. I get a good ROI on Upwork fees. I'd have to spend far more in marketing to connect with the best of the clients I've found (or who have found me) on the platform.