🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Rights to artwork?
Page options
jmeans345
Community Member

Rights to artwork?

Hi there,

I am fairly new to upwork and have recently gotten my first commission. I am curious what the legal relationship between artist and client is. I've been commissioned to do 32 illustrations for a series of books, but does that mean my client owns the rights to the artwork once all the work is said and done, or do I retain rights? What are the terms and conditions for redistribution? Are these things that can be established one you are chosen for the job? I havent seen anything regarding royalties on any my previous proposals. Any help or elaboration would be much appreciated.

-Jaz

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
tlsanders
Community Member

The default terms at Upwork purport to make everything work for hire, meaning that the client owns them and can do anything with them and you can't even use them as samples.

However, you and your client are free to agree on whatever terms you like--you just have to make them explicit in order to override that default clause. 

There are ways to protect both of your interests. For example, I typically purchase copyrights from a book illustrator, but grant the illustrator a perpetual, irrevocable right to use the artwork as samples, in marketing materials, and showcases of their work such as exhibits.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
tlsanders
Community Member

The default terms at Upwork purport to make everything work for hire, meaning that the client owns them and can do anything with them and you can't even use them as samples.

However, you and your client are free to agree on whatever terms you like--you just have to make them explicit in order to override that default clause.