🐈 Community
» Forums » Freelancers » SCAM TO BE AWARE OF
Page options
najenterprises77
Community Member

SCAM TO BE AWARE OF

I am new to Upwork and because of this, I'm eager to find work.  I received an email through Upwork with a client stating how they wanted to hire me.  Not long after I rcvd another email from Upwork stating that client has been removed b/c of not meeting terms of service.  I had already replied though to client.  I then emailed Upwork to ask them about the client - not knowing if I could continue to receive emails from client or not.  Remember, I already replied to client so now they had my email address.  So I proceeded convo through email with client.  I don't know if that's against Upwork or not.  Anyhow, Upwork still didn't reply to me; I think Upwork should reply to let Freelancers have some kind of insight as to why we should not communicate with client at all or maybe in their email to us include not just b/c client failed Terms of Service but tell us that client is a scam.

Well, this client sounded so legit -- extremely legit.  They asked me all the normal, professional questions that any company would to a prospective "employee."  Being the kind of person I am, I still went into researching who this client was via Google.  **Edited for community guidelines**

Lesson for me:  if Upwork sends me a message stating that they removed a company b/c they failed to meet the Terms of Service, I must immediately stop all communications b/c they obviously have found out something negative.