🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: SPAM Job Postings
Page options
bridge_oh
Community Member

SPAM Job Postings

Is anyone else noticing the overwhelming amount of SPAM jobs being posted to Upwork recently? I see dozens posted daily and the telltale giveaways are 1) the hourly rate is abnormally high and 2) there's almost always a phone number/email address to submit a resume through instead of going through Upwork. 

What is Upwork doing to weed out these SPAM posts? Certainly there are filters, moderators, etc.? Also wondering why these posts continue to stay up when they are clearly SPAM?

As a freelancer, I want to be reading and applying to legitmate jobs, however, I spent a lot of time now having to weed through all the SPAM posts. 

What is Upwork doing to handle these posts? I've noticed it in the past few months and prior to that rarely saw SPAM job posts so believe a change was done somewhere that is now allowing them to get through. 

34 REPLIES 34
lalla59
Community Member

You will find many threads about this problem, Bridget... But nothing happens, no news from Upwork! ☹️👎

6125ff0c
Community Member

I agree, Bridget.  It's getting to the point at which it's very difficult to actually find the legit jobs to apply to.  I have been marking the scam jobs consistently but receive no indication that anyone is doing anything about it.  

I've given up flagging. It takes up too much of my time and there's no apparent benefit.

If Upwork wants to pay me my standard hourly rate to flag SPAM posts instead of my freelance work, then I'll do it. Why do Upwork's job for free?

6125ff0c
Community Member

I just listed most recent jobs and out of 10 jobs listed, only one was legit.

NOT REFERRING to Upwork, but making a general observation:

Any site where 9 out of 10 listings are spam is essentially dead.

Such numbers mean that the site administrators have given up and the community has moved on.