Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Samples of proofreading / editing work.

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
James P Member Since: Oct 1, 2017
1 of 12

I am a freelancer and often in job ads the client will ask for samples of previous work.  While I understand why a client might do this, it creates a problem.  The documents I work on or not my work nor my property. I feel a responsibility to treat everything I work on as 100% confidential, regardless of where the final document is published.  I also don't feel comfortable asking for permission to do so and one the one occasion I did, the client was less than happy.

I was interested in a client's side on how I can make this work for all parties,

James

Highlighted
Goran V Moderator Member Since: Mar 24, 2017
2 of 12

Hi James,

If you do not want to share your work from previous clients as an example for which you can ask them for a permission. 
You can make your example of your work not connected for any projects your work on here and upload it in your portfolio section.

Untitled
Highlighted
Ace Contributor
3 of 12

Hi Goran,

Thanks for your reply but it doesn't really address the issue.  As a proofreader/editor, none of the work I do is ever really mine. It belongs to the client I originally did the work for,  As I said in my original post, I'm not even going to ask for permission to share work I know is confidential. That would be highly unprofessional.

I originally posted this in the Clients Section (it was moved here which is fair enough) because I wanted to get some of the clients' perspectives on how many of them would be happy for their work to be shared when they themselves are requesting samples.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Randall S Member Since: Mar 20, 2017
4 of 12