🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Scam - Data Entry Job Postings
Page options
ea0ed5de
Community Member

Scam - Data Entry Job Postings

I'm new to upwork and I'm having a hard time getting projects that are actually legitimate. I'm trained in the virtual assistant tasks and I have a bit of experience so I wanted to start off with short-term fixed price projects I could complete first so I could get a feel for what I'm going to be doing here on upwork.

Whenever I search Data-entry projects, I get like 60% to 80% of the same offers where the clients says you have to download JPEG or PDF files and type them into Microsoft Word. All of them have unverified payment details and I noticed that some projects are posted multiple time. I also noticed that some use the same templates.

Unfortunately I wasted a few connects applying for these projects only to be sent a link that either doesn't work, or gets you to a page that obviously indicates the offer was a scam.

I'm sure I'm not the only one.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
nyonomega0
Community Member

Angelo G wrote:

Yes, you're not the only one.

These scam job postings have been on a rise for the last few months.

Currently, Upwork is refusing to do anything about them.

Anyways, for the time being, you can use the save search option to filter scam job postings. You can learn more about it here.

Thank You.

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17
nyonomega0
Community Member

Angelo G wrote:

Yes, you're not the only one.

These scam job postings have been on a rise for the last few months.

Currently, Upwork is refusing to do anything about them.

Anyways, for the time being, you can use the save search option to filter scam job postings. You can learn more about it here.

Thank You.

Thank you, this was helpful.