Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scam alert:**

hmnina
Nina Hsu M Member Since: Aug 28, 2016
1 of 7

Dear community and Upwork,

Many of us are getting lots of inviation and it's a scam at the end.People trust Upwork to find jobs here.And Upwork is getting a cut of every paycheck. I think Upwork team should set up a security system to better screen job posers as well. Verify payment and other screen methods,PLEASE.

It happens TOO MANY times to many people that work for free and get nothing and waste a lot of time. Many of my friends uses Upwork and got screwed.You need to improve your website and your service before this website becomes famous for fraud and scams.

Please avoid a company calll **edited for Community Guidelines** inviation.

Thank you.

digdipper
Hernan A Member Since: Jun 22, 2015
2 of 7

I guess you're right. I have been working at UPwork for almost five years. I guess recently I think I was scammed too by one of my clients. I am so naive to write 41 articles for her without having demanded a milestone for the work. I think every thing came too quick and I feel I was hoodwinked into believing that this person is trustworthy. I think that I better look for a different job now.

garnorm
Community Guru
Garnor M Member Since: Oct 29, 2014
3 of 7

Hi Nina,

I'm sorry to hear about the experience. I assure you, we do have a team dedicated to keeping the site safe and secure for all good users. This includes policies and actions aimed at misbehaving clients as well. 

You'll see I edited some of the details of your original post. It's against our Community Guidelines to include names, user IDs, etc. of others on the platform. The best way to "warn" others is to report those bad users directly to Upwork so we can take a look.

Finally, Lena posted this discussion thread the other day that you and Hernan might find useful. 

stencil_media
Community Guru
Scott E Member Since: Jul 26, 2015
4 of 7