cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scam? *edited*

bigb21
Kristi B Member Since: Jul 14, 2016
1 of 13

Has anyone been offered a job from **Edited for Community Guidelines**? I am new to Upwork and was excited to be offered a job! He asked for my cell # and email. Then was texting me my offer.  A "contract" was sent to my email and I declined it. Didn't hear anymore from him. 

Thanks for the help!

Kristi B

lysis10
Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
BEST ANSWER
2 of 13

lol @ **Edited for Community Guidelines**

Anyone who brings up "work from home" on here is a scam. So is anyone who talks about HR.

Out of curiosity, what did the contract promise? What did he want you to sign?

View solution in original post

bigb21
Kristi B Member Since: Jul 14, 2016
3 of 13

So, most postitions that say they are virtual are a scam?

lysis10
Community Guru
4 of 13

lol @ that website. And LOL at that letter. I'm so glad I got to see it.

Yeah, it's a scam.

lysis10
Community Guru
5 of 13

@Kristi B wrote:

So, most postitions that say they are virtual are a scam?

Anyone who mentions "work from home" or "work at home" is a scammer. When someone posts a project here, they don't care where you work. They just want you to get something done. Well, maybe if you're a VA or something. I've known people who want to avoid people who work in Internet cafes so they go as far as to ask for a pic of the work environment. This is an extreme example though for someone who works with low cost providers and wants to avoid the low end of the low end.

Anyone who mentions HR departments and benefits and all that too. Scam. 

tlsanders
Community Guru
Tiffany S Member Since: Jan 15, 2016
6 of 13

@Jennifer M wrote:

I've known people who want to avoid people who work in Internet cafes so they go as far as to ask for a pic of the work environment. T