cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scam from someone claiming to be *Edit*

Highlighted
Melissa K Member Since: Jul 19, 2017
1 of 5

I am new to Upwork. I spent a lot of time this morning with a chat interview on Google Hangouts with someone claiming to be from **Edited for Community Guidelines**. After answering typical interview questions, they offereed the position. It sounded too good to be true. They were offering $26/ hour for copy editing and a free Macbook Pro. All from just a chat interview. The email they gave me was not a centurylink email, but a google one. I quit talking to them at this point, knowing anything that good to be true probably was. My question is how do I identify something like this sooner? I'm debating whether I even want to continue trying to work through Upwork, because I will assume everything is a scam.

Community Guru
John K Member Since: Feb 17, 2015
BEST ANSWER
2 of 5

@Melissa K wrote:

My question is how do I identify something like this sooner? I'm debating whether I even want to continue trying to work through Upwork, because I will assume everything is a scam.

First of all, it's good that you didn't fall for the scam. To identify scams sooner, I suggest looking over this community topic: https://community.upwork.com/t5/New-to-Upwork/Tips-to-Avoid-Questionable-Jobs/td-p/240833