🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Scam?
Page options
farmer_janiah
Community Member

Scam?

Hey all. I'm fairly new to the Upwork platform. I submitted a proposal to a job and client contacted me with link to interview via Skype. They want me to add the director's email, then await reply. There are some typos in the description. Client has a 3.83 star review and has payment verified. I'm just scared to do something and get scammed.
8 REPLIES 8
prestonhunter
Community Member

Janiah:
You are wise to be cautious.

New Upwork freelancers are indeed targeted by scammers.

If a client isn't perfect in the way they write English, it doesn't necessarily mean they are a scammer.

Payment verified? Already has a star average from freelancer feedback?
That is NOT typically what we see when we encounter scammers.

They want to add you to the director's email?

That DOES sound like a scammer.

Asking you to follow a link to interview via Skype?
Scammers do that.
But an inexperienced client might do that as well.

IT DOES NOT MATTER whether this is a scammer or not when it comes to what you do about that Skype interview request:

On June 26, 2020, Upwork changed their rules so that you (as a freelancer) are not allowed to do an interview via Skype. You may not communicate with potential clients off-platform.

Until you have a contract in place.
Once you have an official Upwork contract, you may use Skype or any other communication tool.

Upwork provides video-conferencing and audio call capabilities WITHIN the Upwork Messages tool. You may also communicate with potential clients using an Upwork-provided Zoom session. Or just chat via Upwork Messages.

With all of these communication possibilities, there is no reason for you to need to communicate with this potential client via Skype.

Tell the prospective client: