🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Scammer
Page options
c914f45d
Community Member

Scammer

Hello,

I am new to Upwork and believe I have been scammed. I can give you all the information needed. I put in a proposal on Tuesday, September 7, 2021. Within minutes a "recrutier" reached out to me and said that I will need to reach out to the hiring manager of Appen via WhatsApp for an interview. Since I am new to Upwork I was not aware that this is not how it works. I gave out information and have been very concerned but thank goodness I have fraud protection. I can give you more details if needed.

Thank you kindly for your assistance in this matter.

Rebecca Booher

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
jr-translation
Community Member

Rebecca B wrote:

Hello,

I am new to Upwork and believe I have been scammed. I can give you all the information needed. I put in a proposal on Tuesday, September 7, 2021. Within minutes a "recrutier" reached out to me and said that I will need to reach out to the hiring manager of Appen via WhatsApp for an interview. Since I am new to Upwork I was not aware that this is not how it works. I gave out information and have been very concerned but thank goodness I have fraud protection. I can give you more details if needed.

Rebecca Booher

Flag the job and then take some time to read and understand the ToS. You have confirmed twice that you have read, understood, and accepted the ToS and then you violated them at the first opportunitiy.

The best fraud protection is to follow the ToS and think twice before sharing personal data (not only on Upwork).

Did you get scammed? I don't know, since I do not know if there is any damage, but it was most likely an attempt to scam you. Upwork clients do not have recruiters.

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17
jr-translation
Community Member

Rebecca B wrote:

Hello,

Rebecca Booher