🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Scammers on Upwork
Page options
f1fae741
Community Member

Scammers on Upwork

Hi! I've been on Upwork for like a year now so relatively I'm new to the platform, I've been encountering an issue lately that has happened to me with two clients, here it is:

-I work as a Marketing Strategist and the product is a 4 Phases file including Audit, Research, Brand Development, Marketing Strategy and Action Plan

-To be honest I've never been too organized about the payment structure since I've never had any issues before but with these two last clients (I always have a catch up meeting on week 2 and then on week 4) they never said anything about not liking the work.

-I presented the full startegy yesterday even though he had not paid me the 2 milestone which is the Phase 3 and 4.

-When I reminded him this he started complaining about how my work had not value and that his brand new goal was to achieve 1M in revenue out of a 84k marketing budget, including retainers (lmao), said that i didn't create the product (which we never talked about) like I said i would and that the research had no value...

I must say I feel awful, because NONE of these things were said until yesterday and i feel he just doesn't wanna pay for the job, after this I designed a very strict payment structure because I feel scammed..

The funny thing is that they both have said the same thing, that they don't see the value after everything is done, when I show exactly the phases (STEP BY STEP) and they always find it great until the last day.. but then they keep asking for free stuff like I'm supposed to make up for it, which of course I never send.

I've never had this issue before until now, has anyone gone through this?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
wlyonsatl
Community Member

With new clients, hope for the best and plan for the worst.