🐈 Community
scarlett65

Scams

Hello everyone!

I am new to Upwork and wondered if you have had trouble with scams?  I have had THREE invites in one week and they all want me to go offline to chat regarding employment.  I don't trust them as I was taken for a scam in the past and ended up filing bankruptcy!  What's the safe way to talk to possible employers?  Thanks much, and have a great weekend!

Kindly,

Monica

9 REPLIES 9
lysis10

One flag for me is when they claim to be in the US and ping me at 1am. I have 1 customer who is totally legit and works weird hours, but he's obviously in the US even though he pings me in the middle of the night.

But, broken English, claims to be in the US, the name is "John" or some american sounding name and hits me up consistently when I'm sleeping? Yeah, he gets bozo binned.

tgstudio

It seems that the scammers love to target the newbies on this site. I had a few encounters with them when I first started her. But I didn't just fall off the turnip truck. I just used common sense.

There is nothing wrong with talking with potential clients offsite. In fact I will say half the clients I work with prefer to communicate offsite whether by personal email, Skype, etc. Do not give them any passwords, social security numbers, financial information or heaven forbid take checks outside of Upwork to buy equipment, or get paid outside of UpWork period. 

If it's too good to be true, it probably is.

Okay, so it's pretty normal for them to want to chat in Google Hangouts?  That's where I'm feeling uncomfortable. Where does a potentail client want to talk?  Thanks again, everyone.

I would be cautious in using Google Hangouts. It seems that the scammers have been using that site as of late.

Mine usually want my email address (if you are not comfortable with using your main email address you can always create one for this site only) or chat on Skype.

@Monica H wrote: