cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Search results being tweaked leading to decrease in jobs?

Highlighted
Mike P Member Since: Nov 5, 2014
1 of 4

Hi everyone,

I've been using oDesk exclusevly for over 6 years but i find that the quality of jobs and overall experience is on decline. There is a growing issue with spamming/phishing (including the glorious Nigerian money scam) on oDesk. But that's somewhat understandable and I'm sure moderators are doing their best to combat it.

However, there's a huge problem with the search algorythms on the site. In order to gain client's trust, odesk needs to make sure they display their "most successfull" providers at the very top. This can be done using a combination of the overall score/rating, hours worked, overall earnings (which is a direct reflection of the contractor's success rate), number of items in portfolio, tests taken, and so on. At the moment, if you search for ANY type of contractor you'll get VERY mixed results and honestly, I would not hire 90% of the first page of contractors.

I've been approached MANY times by clients that have already paid other contractors for a job that did not work out. This hurts odesk in 2 ways; for one you've linked a bad provider to a client that will think twice about outsourcing work again. Second, the next candidate/provider will have a much smaller budget to work with IF the client decides to repost the same contract. Either way you slice it, nobody wins.

What are your thoughts/ideas or opinions on the matter?

Highlighted
Community Guru
Gyan D Member Since: Sep 4, 2014
2 of 4