🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Seeking solution for disappointment
Page options
akbarriz123
Community Member

Seeking solution for disappointment

Hello experts, good day!
I may sound little unnerved here but this is the best platform I have found to discuss my thoughts with.

I hardly get any responses against my proposals. More than a year and I have managed to break only 3 tasks/jobs, all smaller ones. Right now I have 19 submitted proposals and 2 genuine active candidacies, where clients are not responsive. I am not sure is there anything wrong with my profile. However, I tried to be different as much as I could while writing my overview.

I am a seasond professional in real life but it seems like people are not recognizing my skills here at Upwork. I know there's a lot of competition in the domain of my expertise; how may I convince clients to try availing my services here at Upwork? 

Shall I directly incorporate this in my each customized proposal that I am a seasoned professional in real-life and they should put in their trust by giving me a chance here at Upwork? Does this seems sober and admissible?

Need expert's opinion on this grave concern.

Thanking you,

Akbar Rizvi

4 REPLIES 4
tlbp
Community Member

Are you applying for writing jobs or for one of your other skills?

Lots of people invest time and effort and don't land gigs. I've seen several posts about it on the forums today. It is really hard to guess why some get their proposals accepted and others do not. 

A lot of people think that if they're good at something, clients will magically recognise this and give them work. They're missing the fact that you need sales and marketing skills as well. You need to figure out how to solve the client's problem and convince them that your solution is better than what the other bidders are offering. Not just, "I'm really good, I have all this experience, you should give me a chance, me, me, me."
c63ea194
Community Member

Hi Syed