🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Sending Bids Wisely on Upwork
Page options
dclar282
Community Member

Sending Bids Wisely on Upwork

Good Afternoon,

I am fairly new to Upwork, having been on continuously for about 3 weeks. I recently closed two jobs successfully and I am working on a third job. However, I feel like I have joined the platform at a time of great transition. The biggest change, as many of you know, is the pricing of the connects and how many are required for proposals. With that being said, I am going to be a lot more frugal with my bids. The alarming thing is that there seems to be this almost gambling aspect to bidding. I know this is just the way of freelancing but, coming from a background doing all my marketing and PR for myself, it is a little daunting. 

Does anyone have some useful tips on how to strategically bid on Upwork?

Thank you,

Drew

14 REPLIES 14
tlsanders
Community Member

I never bid on a job unless I'm confident that there's a clear reason I am a better fit for that job than all or the vast majority of the other freelancers who may bid on it. A lot of freelancers bid on any job they know they can do, but being able to do a job is not a selling point--that's a threshhold issue (or should be) for anyone bidding. It's only like gambling when you don't really have anything to distinguish you from the rest of the pool.

What if your ego doesn't allow you to believe anything than you are ALWAYS the best fit?

Smiley LOL

Mark F wrote:

What if your ego doesn't allow you to believe anything than you are ALWAYS the best fit?

Smiley LOL

What if it doesn't depend on your ego but on being always the cheapest?

Good clients exist but there are not easy to identify plus depending on what your business is, it can be time sensitive.  

You know how to do it? so what?

You're cheap? so what?

You're the first? may be you have a chance.

Can’t speak to that. I am never the cheapest.

Eric B wrote:

You know how to do it? so what?