🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Serious clients: gone for good?
Page options
dottomotion
Community Member

Serious clients: gone for good?

Yes I know about free market, being free to pay and receive what you want. Cheap projects and clients have always been part of the game. But they were mixed with serious projects / budgets and good clients at least. Now all I see are ridiculous budgets from sneak clients trying to get the best of you.

And that happened in a very short time. Yes there are good and bad seasons for freelancers but I've been working on good contracts for the last 3-4 years.

It all changed for me in the last few weeks, a flood of cheap stuff (I mean, 3D animation projects for $10?? Come on!), no proposals, no answer to proposals, nothing.

I'm giving another try with the paid plan after buying more than 80 connects without a single feedback.

Do you guys think this is the new "reality" or maybe just a transition moment?

8 REPLIES 8
tarrier-design
Community Member

I completely agree... but for the past few months, and even since early this year, all the good jobs have disappeared.. 

I do graphic design.  People now want GREAT books cover for $5… 10 hours – 30 hours work for $5…

Example… Illustrate an entire children’s book… and they give examples of some of the BEST and HIGHLY paid illustrators in the world as the quality they want, put will pay. $300 for 20 – 30 double page illustrations, yet those ‘world class’ illustrators charge $30,000 - $100,000 and give 1 year or more timeframe to do do the work... but people want that same quality done in 3 weeks!!!

I have had barely any work this year (2019) from Upwork, as there is nothing worthwhile applying for anymore on this website.

I am very busy elsewhere in my life, and make very good money from stocks, BUT, I like to keep my options open and really enjoyed the previous clients I found, the very interesting design/illustration work I had on Upwork ( And even more so on Elance before it, etc)