🐈 Community
clark1415

Seriously? Supposed to work for $2 or $3 an hour?

Attention: Anyone who is taking jobs that are paying you $2 or $3 an hour. STOP!!!!!!! Can you really pay your bills on that? I know I can't, and as long as you're willing to take that money that is all you are going to make and I can't get a decent paying job on here.
87 REPLIES 87
whogg72

Hi Lois, The reality is that there are areas around the world where one can live on those rates, and you (and I) are in competition with them. Doesn't mean you can't get a good job here, just means that you have to work at it and find the right clients. Best, William

Hi,

I'm from Argentina, South America, and for sure we don't live with $3/hour and I don't accept such earnings.

I'm a professional, with 20 years in my field, and I compite at the same level with first world freelancers. In fact all my clients are from USA, Australia, Europe... Is not where you live, but your professional quality.  

I think there should be a minimum rate (fixed and per hour jobs). 

Thanks!

debi

ffonollera

Welcome to the global marketplace!
mistykeith

Despite the fact that there are areas of the globe where $2 and $3 are considered "making ends meet" wages, who wants to live like that? If this can take you above worse conditions that is great, but really this is all about the professional services contractors are charging for, not where they reside. No matter if you're in South Africa, or in the Philippines, you should charge for your services based on how well you provide them. I think, once and for all, the idea of what an individual contractor is worth should take precedence over location. I really get tired of hearing about other locations that can survive on these low figures when they could actually do so much better for themselves. It's a fact, if people charged what they were really worth then the global market place would be fair and balanced. Of course, that isn't going to happen any time soon.