Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sharing website url

Highlighted
Md Akhtar H Member Since: May 28, 2015
1 of 31

Hi,

I'm a new freelancer. After reading the policies regarding sharing contact information, I still have the following questions. 

1. Can I write "I'm the founder of **edited for Community Guidelines**" in my profile overview?

2. Can I write "I'm the founder of **edited for Community Guidelines**" in a cover letter?

3. Can I share my Skype ID if a client asks?

My blog **edited for Community Guidelines** can be a great demonstration of my writing skills. So I want to tell the clients about my blog, but I don't know whether this is a violation of Upwork policies. Please help.

Thanks.
- Akhtar

Ace Contributor
sathyashrayan N Member Since: May 26, 2015
2 of 31

I think its a violation of policy. But then you could share your social network links in the profile sections such as github, stack exchange. So everything has got the ways to contact you outside the upwork. But remember that your work will be be taken into account if the client does not pay you. The tool that takes snapshot of your hourly work does not work here. You might end up with a client gets disappear from any communications. May be experts here might help you more.

Valeria K Moderator Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
BEST ANSWER
3 of 31

Hi Akhtar,

Since your website has a direct contact form, it is not allowed to share it in your profile overview. You can share it in your cover letter thought. It is also alright to share your Skype ID with your client if necessary.

Thank you!

~ Valeria
Untitled
Community Guru
Douglas Michael M Member Since: May 22, 2015
4 of 31
Valeria,

Could you please confirm that contact details (or the means to them) can be shared in a cover letter, which I have heard or seen described as the equivalent of the Elance proposal (in which such details are forbidden)?.

Thanks and best,
Michael
Community Manager