cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I apply if not totally qualified?

expuser
Exp U Member Since: Oct 29, 2014
1 of 17
Hello all, I have found several positions that I feel I am very qualified for but they require a feedback score and/or completed odesk hours...both of which I do not yet have. Should I apply anyway?...or will my application just be disregarded by the client? Thanks!
t-hall
Community Guru
Tony H Member Since: Nov 10, 2011
2 of 17
From a hiring standpoint, I personally don;t pass over apps that don't meet those particular requirements, although I do feel better about hiring people with a few thousand hours and good rating. That alone isn't a deal breaker though. Some people may be strict with it, some not. I think it's worth applying for those as a contractor myself and have won the bid anyways 🙂
expuser
3 of 17
Oh my goodness...a few thousand hours?...I cannot seem to find more than 10 hrs :( [quote=Tony H.]From a hiring standpoint, I personally don;t pass over apps that don't meet those particular requirements, although I do feel better about hiring people with a few thousand hours and good rating. That alone isn't a deal breaker though. Some people may be strict with it, some not. I think it's worth applying for those as a contractor myself and have won the bid anyways :)[/quote]
cameronjoseph
Community Guru
Joseph C Member Since: Nov 5, 2011
4 of 17
As Tony stated. I apply even though I do not have the hours and use to get the job. But now that falls back on hidden snafu that odesk implemented not long ago. If i do not meet the hours, am i hidden? No way to know.
stephenbrightman
Community Guru
Stephen B Member Since: Dec 4, 2012
5 of 17