🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Shouldn't there be a cap on connects?
Page options
rahulserver
Community Member

Shouldn't there be a cap on connects?

DISCLAIMER: This post is intended to initiate a discussions and also I already consider that not everyone will agree to (all) of my points. Also apologies for making this post long as right now I have quite a lot of idle time

Let me give a brief background. I have been a top rated freelancer, like most of you who would read this, throughout(ever since top rated badge was launched). For majority of my time on upwork, I have worked on long term projects(part time/full time), and some time ago, a long term contract got over and I had to enter the "bidding arena". 

Had to do that in a long long time(perhaps years)! 

And it was BRUTAL to say the least.

I soon found myself competing with 20+, 50+ freelancers for various job postings. Some of them got to half century figures within 10mins of posting!!

And you know that being top rated is not that difficult. Just a few 5 star reveiws and 1000$ earnings(and a bit of luck to not have a client disappear leaving your contract inactive and open). I was interviewed in a fraction of my proposals, and hired in even few!

Had been thinking whats wrong, until recently a client interviewed me and asked a question

"Hey Rahul are you going to be the one who would be working on the project?"

I just wondered why even he would ask that question because upwork has strong policies in place for impersonation and I have an independent contractor profile. Then he mentioned that out of 4 guys including me he was interviewing (via video call), 2 were the ones who were not the people who would be working on the actual project!!

Maybe they were agencies, or maybe they were impersonating(despite of having a independent contractor profile). I don't know, nor I want an enquiry.