🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Simply not listed under searched term.
Page options
kfboelter
Community Member

Simply not listed under searched term.

Hi everyone,

so, what's the actual deal with search terms and such? I once read that it's a rotation based system, but I do have to say that it does not look like that to me.

Taking my case specifically, I'm a Unity developer. If I, or anyone else I asked to give it a try searches for Unity in there, I don't ever, ever, ever show up not even on the 5 first pages... I have actually never seen someone getting to the page where my profile is AT ALL. Seems like I am simple not listed (my profile is not private). On the other hand, I do see a lot of the same faces ranking on the first page. It does not seem random at all.

I am not the first option even if I search for "Unity Klein", which does seem very very weird to me.

Maybe I am doing something wrong, or maybe that's just how it is.

I'd love to hear whatever anyone can point out, if I'm doing something wrong, or if simply I am not smart enough to understand what's happening.

Thank you all in advance.

12 REPLIES 12
hoyle_editing
Community Member

There is alot of freelancers, i think youd be lucky to find yourself at the top few pages when there is probably thousands....

Screenshot 2019-09-17 at 12.40.23.png

Yeah, I totally get that... the thing that puzzles me is that I always see the same faces ranking on the top. Try checking a guy named "Sigurd", for instance.

indeed, yeah he is number 3 for "unity developer"

I have no idea, Upwork presumably make some kind of judgment on who they think is most appropriate for a specified search term. Though i wouldnt expect them to admit that/confirm/that/deny that or explain how it works.

(and if they did im not sure id have total reassurance that it was true.)