🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Skeptical Job Offer
Page options
noah_salvatore
Community Member

Skeptical Job Offer

Hi!

I'm still relatively new to Upwork as a freelancer and I'm a bit cautious about a position I was just offered. I know that use of a third-party is prohibited and I became very cautious today after a series of events that occured.

This morning I applied for a position that offered for $50/hr part-time and full-time. After submitting my connects, cover letter, and resume, I was contacted later in the day by someone offering me an interview through Google Hangouts. By the time I saw this message and went to add the account for the interview, I noticed the Upwork account was deactivated. My Upwork account still lists the offer as an "active candidacy". I added the account and within a few hours was asked to have an interview via Google Hangout chat, rather than video call or any form of audio. After answering a few interview questions I was granted a position as a Data Entry Clerk with the mentioned pay of $50/hr. I asked if the work would be supplied through Upwork to which they assured me it would. They said because I'd be working remotely they are sending me a check through FedEx to cover the supply costs of a "mini-office" including a free laptop, printer/scanner, and software used for their business.  I'm worried because I feel like this is all too good to be true or a scam and I'm worried about losing my opportunities here on Upwork since this just doesn't seem legitimate. Is there a better way to look into this?

Thanks,

Noah Salvatore

2 REPLIES 2
AveryO
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Noah, 

I'm sorry to learn about your experience with this client. I would like to confirm that this is a scam, and offering, and accepting to be paid off the platform, in this case, in a form of a check, is a violation of the Upwork Terms of Service.