🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Sketchy Job?
Page options
carolinems1
Community Member

Sketchy Job?

Hello! This is my first time really exploring this community section, so I hope I'm posting in the right place, but I'm looking for advice on a job that I'm currently interviewing for:

So the original job posting was to address envelopes and write on the index cards to be placed inside of them. I figured maybe it was for a party or something, but it turns out it's for a legal-by-a-technicality online poker game that the client is working for. Now, this already doesn't entirely sit right with me, but it's good money (for a beginner), an easy job, and would be semi-long-term. However, this client is planning on mailing the envelopes/index cards to me, asking me to address them, then asking me to mail them back to him and saying he'll cover the cost of shipping—which means he would have my address. Even if I bought the materials myself and he (hopefully) covered the cost, I would still have to mail them to him, meaning he would get my address either way.

Do I try to find a way around giving my address, but still attempt to do the job? Do I bring this up with the client and ask for a way to do this more safely? Do I report him without addressing it with him first? Do I simply say that I'm no longer interested in the job?

Thank you in advance for any suggestions!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Hm it sounds weird. Tell him that you feel the job is not the right fit and you wish him all the best with his almost legal poker game.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Hm it sounds weird. Tell him that you feel the job is not the right fit and you wish him all the best with his almost legal poker game.

gilbert-phyllis
Community Member