🐈 Community
nikki_vivian

So many negative experiences. Surely someone is doing well on Upwork?

I'm relatively new to Upwork and there seems to be so much mixed feeling from freelancers. I have no idea what the migration from Elance involved so I can't comment on any issues arising from that but it seems that the forums are full of people saying they're not getting work. However, when I have been browsing the profiles of my potential competition, some people seem to be making big money.

Just wondering if there are any positive stories. I'd love to hear about people who are doing really well for some inspiration. I've had a positive experience so far. I started on Upwork as a 'test' to see if I could make a proportion of my income from such a platform and I think I could potentially make my living from it. Anyone else proved this is the case?

25 REPLIES 25
lysis10

You have to remember that people come here to complain. Rarely does anyone who is happy and making bank come to the forum and let everyone know that they are killing it. 

My migration from Elance has been slow yet I continue to see improvements in my jobs here. Elance is slowly winding down. I still bid occasionally there, but knowing that it's going away, I've been trying to focus my efforts here.

Just like anything else, you have to figure out a way to make it work for you. I'm sure Upwork knows that they have some improvements that they need to do, but as long as I can communicate with clients, bid, get paid, and transfer money, all the rest is not important to me as long as the issues are being worked on. As long as you focus on get clients, do work well, get paid and ignore a lot of the noise, you'll do well. 

I think my big concern is hopefully the clients that I have on Elance migrate easily. Repeat customers are my bread and butter mainly.