e_gan

Something's fishy about this ongoing client, thoughts?

Need inputs. I'm thinking of ending a contract as it seems fishy. I'm a graphic designer on oDesk FYI. This client's profile states: payment is not verified yet by oDesk, has 12 positive reviews, has so far hired 20 freelancers and paid $10k overall contracts. She was so responsive and convincing to hire me I was offered an hourly contract Problem is, she doesn't respond to my design submissions quickly (1 week per reply!) unlike the many genuine clients i've had, she doesn't expects certain revisions (which most of clients does), she doesn't fuss about anything of my designs (expected basic details requires client's feedback). Now i'm wondering if she'll ever pay me because her payment is not odesk verified, then how does she makes her 10k overall payments as claimed by her profile? Thing is I don't see how she gains from scamming me (I don't provide personal email address, payment details, phone details etc), so what will she gain from wasting my time? Or am I being overly cautious? I watermark my designs. At present, the 5 hours work monies logged on odesk are under Review Mode hence i'm waiting for this payment to go through before I decide if worth continuing on. I'm not desperately needing this contract, but it helps me to be wary of future similar contracts like this and so I can focus on other ongoing contracts I paused for. Argh.
5 REPLIES 5
mtaboclaon