🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Spam invitation to interview?
Page options
marimind
Community Member

Spam invitation to interview?

I am relatively new to UpWork. I just received a strange "invitation to interview." I don't know the person and wonder if it's possible to receive a spam invitation? The invitation is typed below...

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

There was no job posted and no additional information provided. What alarmed me was that this stranger asked for my email address. Was this a spam invitation?

Thank you, Marilyn

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
wescowley
Community Member

It's almost certainly a scam. 

You'll probably find the job posting by looking in the interview section of your job proposals page.  Take a look at the number of people that he invited as the first clue.  Assuming there's nothing about the post that changes your mind about it being bogus, go ahead and decline the invitation (you want to do that rather than ignore because it will count toward your responsiveness ratings once you get more invites).

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
colettelewis
Community Member

Marilyn M wrote:

I am relatively new to UpWork. I just received a strange "invitation to interview." I don't know the person and wonder if it's possible to receive a spam invitation? The invitation is typed below...

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

There was no job posted and no additional information provided. What alarmed me was that this stranger asked for my email address. Was this a spam invitation?

Thank you, Marilyn

It is not against the rules to ask for an email address, or to give it. However,  t is entirely possible to receive a scam invitation, which IMO this is. If there is no job description, there is no job. Report it and move on.

Thank you Nichola, helpful.

Marilyn

wescowley
Community Member

It's almost certainly a scam.