🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Struggling to find new clients on Upwork
Page options
robertomasala
Community Member

Struggling to find new clients on Upwork

Good Morning all,

I am a freelancer, and I've worked remotely for 7+ years. A couple of months ago, I signed on Upwork, and I've completed the profile, added reviews from past clients, samples of my previous work, etc. I landed one job; however, I find it difficult to find more clients.

I tried to increase-decrease prices, respond to the most recent job offers, write a detailed cover letter showing my interest in the job, my skills, and samples of my previous work, but people are not responding.

I am an experienced audio engineer and video editor well versed in content creation and audio/video editing. Any tips on how to get some jobs on the platform? What's your experience?

7 REPLIES 7
kinector
Community Member

My two coconuts on this topic is this. 

Most new Upworkers (regardless of how much success they had elsewhere) believe that things over here work like things elsewhere... particularly if you have mostly focused on local clients (people you have a business relationship with).

Your profile title suggest you do many things. This is not a productive approach over here. Pick something very specific. Do you want to stand out as an audio engineer or a graphic designer? 

For both those capabilities, there are thousands of others competing with you for the same jobs. What's your competitive advantage? 

The only way to the top over here is to offer something specific.

For the first 3 years on Upwork I did nothing but application development on Microsoft Kinect 3D sensor. 

So, already after the first half a year, anyone looking for Kinect development saw me as the most specialized Kinect developer on this platform. 

Later on, as my track record had nice numbers in it, I started changing the specialty as I liked. Currently doing maybe my fourth niche over here.