🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Suspicious Clients
Page options
3aa0aa35
Community Member

Suspicious Clients

So I'm very new to Upwork & have trouble knowing what is legit & what is not. I've had 3 encounters that have seemed very shady because I am being asked to Set up google business accounts & for my ID or passport number. Could anyone tell me if I'm just being paranoid or not? I love content moderation but this is making me nervous. I don't want to be caught up in anything. They deleted their accounts after I asked questions except for Maria.

Example one: 

This one the guy wants me to set up a business account in my name wants my address & has changed the email he wanted to be created to be a completely different business. Not to mention his username is the same as a fitness club but it has absolutely nothing to do with the business accounts he's wanting me to set up.

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

Example 2:

This one made me uncomfortable, especially because as I started to read the guidelines they say no client should ever ask for your ID.

Example 3: 

This guy was so persistent that it got creepy. He did not want to keep communication on Upwork at all. I wish I still had the rest of the chat but he was so extremely pushy & only wanted to use Telegram.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

You took part in a scam. Nobody should ask you to create an account in your own name - why would that EVER be necessary? They are going to use it to scam other people  and/or to fake their location. Read this: https://community.upwork.com/t5/Community-Blog/Top-Red-Flags-for-Scams-From-Community-Member-Wes-C/b...

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18
1547cd5a
Community Member

I am new too and a company "hired" me today, had me do an interview, sign a job offer and said they'd send a scanned check for me to purchase merchandise from their vendor.