cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Suspicious of Job Offer

j_steiger
Jon S Member Since: Jan 12, 2014
1 of 13
Hi, I'm new to Odesk, and set up my account to get some jobs as a creative writer. I got a message from someone, asking me (quite cordially) to apply for their job. The message I received ran thusly: "Hello! I'd like to personally invite you to apply to my job. Please review the job post and apply if you're available. Stacey (not real name)" The job called for a thriller/sci-fi series of short stories (20-30K words each), with a budget of $350 being afforded for the first story, and subsequent work would depend on her interest in the first one. The application involved the submission of sample writings, an outline for the story and overall series and then providing an estimated turnover for each story. I was happy to receive the job, but wondered why I was chosen, considering I haven't done any work on Odesk and haven't filled out my work experience. All in all, I don't see how my profile was impressive enough to merit such an abrupt invitation to hire, though I did correspond with her and provided all she asked for. I then said I was "curious as to how this would be published, and what publisher company [she] may be working for". Her next message commented on the outline, providing some very general feedback, wrapping it up with "So I guess, I'll just click on hire and let's see where it goes? 🙂 " There was no acknowledgement of my query about publishing. And the somewhat puerile language and repeated use of "smiley faces" (several times) caused me some pause. I pressed the issue (delicately, I think), which got me this: "I don't really work with a company :) We are a husband and wife team and we publish and market stories mainly as digital books. You'll most likely see the series (when it's done) on Barnes and Noble, Amazon, or iTunes. It will be under a pen name, though we don't have any qualms about you mentioning the work i