cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Switching offers from hourly to fixed-price

Cory K Member Since: Jun 22, 2017
1 of 6

There's a situation I seem to be running into quite frequently lately: I apply to a job that's been listed as hourly for something like translation or proofreading, tasks often paid based on the length of the text instead of the amount of time the job takes. I go ahead and put in an hourly rate, and when I get an interview with the client, I let them know that I'd prefer a fixed-price arrangement. Most clients agree to this readily, but some of them will have sent me an offer for an hourly contract before I have a chance to explain this, which can be problematic.

As a freelancer, I'm not familiar with the interface clients use to manage offers. Upwork's help pages say that clients can edit offers under Pending Offers, so I suggest this to the client. About half the time, I get a message saying that the original offer was withdrawn with the reason "This offer was replaced by another one". A fixed-price offer shows up, I accept it, and all is well. The other half of the time, the client tells me they can't figure out how to edit or replace the offer. I have no clue what to tell them in this situation. I've had a couple clients who created a new fixed-price posting and invited me to it—the whole back-and-forth process to get this set up can delay the work considerably, but it does solve the problem. I've also had one who insisted that I accept the hourly offer and input some amount of manual time roughly equivalent to what I'd've charged on a fixed-price contract. He expressed some concern about what would happen to his hiring statistics if he sent a new offer. I told him I wasn't going to essentially lie on a contract and risk violating the ToS, so I had to turn the job down.