cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: THE SUCCESS SYSTEM IS ONLY GEARED TO HOURLY JOBS, NOT FIXED PRICE JOBS

Judd K Member Since: Oct 5, 2015
1 of 21

i AM A GRANT WRITER AND THE SUCCESS SYTEM IS IS UNINTENTIONLY UNFAIRLY INTERPRETING MY STATS:NUMBER OF HOURS OF WORK. IT ONLY REEFLECTS HOURLY JOBS E.G., IT SAYS I HAVE 30 HOURS FOR 19 JOBS--AT AN AVERAGE OF 10 TO 15 PER GRANT APPLICATION, THE ACTUAL STAT SHOULD BE CLOSER TO 285 HOURS..

; THE FACTOR OF FURTHER WORK WITH A CLIENTFAILS DOES NOT TO FACTOR IN  THAT GRANT WRITING IS A A ONE JOB JOB I.E., THERE ARE A FINITE NUMBER OF GRANTS THAT A CLIENT QUALIFIES FOR,, AND THE JOB ENTAILS ALL OF THOSE GRANT APPLICATIONS RATHER THEN AS SEPARATE JOBS.

Community Guru
Kathy T Member Since: Jul 17, 2015
2 of 21

I agree with you 110%. I did a "rant" (Hour Requirements) in the clients section about this. Upwork is "geared" more toward hourly jobs then fixed rate for a number of reasons. And you can be perfectly correct in your assumption but that's the way Upwork is going to operate, like it or not.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
3 of 21

All caps is cruise control for cool.

Community Guru
Nichola L Member Since: Mar 13, 2015
4 of 21

Judd,

I don't think this is correct. I am certainly not top rated, but I do have a 100% JSS (for the moment!), and I have only six recorded hours against hundreds of hours worked on a fixed-rate basis.

Edited to add: It is considered bad mannered by internauts to write in capital letters, which is seen as agressive shouting. I have used it effectively sometimes! Smiley Wink

Community Leader
Mikila S Member Since: Sep 12, 2015
5 of 21

I get where Judd is coming from.

I also get where Kathy is coming from.