🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Technical Freelancer for Non-Technical Cl...
Page options
cynthia-poole
Community Member

Technical Freelancer for Non-Technical Client(s) - Help!

I am new to Upwork, love the concept. I recently finished my 1st project, but need advice on how NOT to get burnt next time. I want to help clients with tech issues so they can focus on their business. In my 32+ years in the tech field, I know that a non-tech client often makes a request, and it takes some digging to determine what they really want. My first Upwork project involved a client who requested an “Excel expert to normalize a spreadsheet” and allocated 2 hrs for the project. I bid on the job and got it. It took 6+ hours to complete the project (I got paid for two). I put in the extra time bc I feared a bad review. Yes, it was a spreadsheet, but not the type of work that could be completed in two hours, it did not need an Excel expert and the descriptor “normalize” was inaccurate. Problem: a tech person cannot see what the (client) really wants before bidding. I accept responsibility for finding out ahead of time what a project entails, but how can I do this in Upwork?

7 REPLIES 7
jr-translation
Community Member

Cynthia P wrote: