🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Termination of the contract with the clie...
Page options
apaproforce
Community Member

Termination of the contract with the client

Hello,
I need help deciding, I’m new to Upwork.
I have a client, a contract signed by the hour. I did all the work and handed him the documentation. He hasn't responded to my messages for a long time, I asked him "Is everything okay with the project I was working on?" Honestly, I don't like it when someone is so unavailable, so I would like to terminate that contract. First I would ask the client to terminate the contract, if he does not want I will terminate it because he has no more work for me, or he will not be there soon.
The reason why I would terminate the contract: I read on the support, that if the contract is open and not active, that it is badly expressed on my rating. I would not like to have a negative business due to an inactive contract, ie an irresponsible client.
Can you advise me what is best for me to do?
If you have additional questions, feel free to ask me.
Greetings,

9 REPLIES 9
wlyonsatl
Community Member

Srdjan K.,

It is no fun waiting for a delayed response from a client, but that is just the ways things are with some/many clients.

I recommend sending a quick note to the client once a week, at most. Once every two weeks would probably be sufficient.

After four weeks of no response, ask the client if there is any more work for you on the project in the near future.

If there is still no response after another two weeks, close the project yourself and send a note to the client telling him a) you've enjoyed working with him and b) you will be happy to re-start the project at his convenience. Part b) may not be true, but he needn't know that and it looks better if this or other future potential clients review your feedback.