Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Test trials you're getting paid for

Highlighted
Maryke G Member Since: Jul 21, 2016
1 of 6

Hi
I've just done my "first job" and actually feel very unhappy about it. I guess it's mainly that I'm angry with myself for shooting myself in the foot here. But to stay positive, I'll look at it as a learning curve and getting to know how to go about applying for jobs here on Upwork.

Firstly, I'm a graphic designer/typesetter.

The client invited me for an interview and asked to do a trial for an X amount. I did so and sent an highres pdf.
Yesterday the client asked for the open files and, not feeling comfortable with it, I sent it.
Today I get the reply that they're very happy with the design, but decided to go with appointing someone in-house at their company. This after I've been told that if they hire me, there would be future projects involved also.

Even though I'm getting paid a small amount for this, I feel I made a big mistake by sending them my open files.

Now, my question is, am I allowed to only supply lowres pdfs even when they pay for the test or place a watermark on a pdf? And also, may I refuse to supply open files on these trials and only supply open files in the case where I'm actually hired for the whole job?

It feels I've spent so much time on this trial and basically gave a layout design away for next to nothing now.

I would greatly appreciate your feedback and please no nasty comments – I'm well aware that I was stupid regarding this whole transaction.

Thanks

Highlighted
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 6

Maryke:

I'm sorry that you feel frustrated, but I'm afraid there is some kind of disconnect here.

You did a job, an you were paid for the work you did.

That is how Upwork is supposed to work.

If you're hired to do a job by a client, and the client pays you for your work, then the files you produced belong to the client.