🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » The client said I did a job well done, but di...
Page options
8ed492d2
Community Member

The client said I did a job well done, but didn't pay!

Help please! I am new to Upwork. I scored 2 projects. I did them well. One of them I just completed a week ago, has yet to pay me. He even commended that my work was impressive. But he took my work, and RAN AWAY with it - I didn't get paid for it. I texted him 5 times across 7 days here on Upwork, but he never responded. **Edited for Community Guidelines**

I have no idea what else to do. His payment is verified. I'm not under the Hourly Protection scheme. I wrote into Upwork, but they've yet to respond to my email. I don't have any of his contact details. He might even be using his real name. Please, does anyone know what I can do to get paid rightly for the work I did?

6 REPLIES 6
AndreaG
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Pearlyn,

I checked and it looks like the contract you're referring to is Hourly. Since this is an Hourly Contract, you are paid based on the Weekly Billing Cycle:

Week 1 – You log time using the Upwork desktop app and Work Diary.
Week 2 – Hours within the weekly limit invoice to your clients on Monday. They have until Friday to review the work. Then the review period ends.
Week 3 – Earnings become available on the following Wednesday.

Your client doesn't need to manually verify the work you completed, they can only file a dispute during the review period. If no action is taken on their end, your funds will be released to you as detailed above.

~Andrea
Upwork
8ed492d2
Community Member

Thank you Andrea for replying.