🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: The client was a liar, but I still return...
Page options
mike_hurin
Community Member

The client was a liar, but I still returned the money to him to save time and satisfy the "client".

The client tried in every possible way to fool me. It was a fixed project and I had to add 3 functions to his site, but in the end he asked me to do a lot more (too much) and I did it anyway. After which he said that the site is not a pixel perfect, although he asked to make it rubber (adaptive). I opened a dispute and he still tried to fool me. From the side of Upwork, for a week no one connected and decided which of us was right, so I closed the dispute and gave the money to the client. After which my JSS crashed. How can I remove this conflict from my story and return JSS to 100%? I am a beginner freelancer, this was my third order. It really upset me, please help! Thank you so much for any help!

4 REPLIES 4
hoyle_editing
Community Member

I dont think you can - You refunded the client and as such have a closed non paying contract. 

In a dispute Upwork do not decide a winner/looser - they just try to mediate the situation, IF that doesnt work you can pay to take the case to arbitration (around $290 i think).

In future do not open or close disputes lightly, they can damage your JSS and its always better to try and resolve issues in other ways from what i can tell.

I'm afraid you will probably have to put this down to experiance - unless one of the more experianced freelancers here can tell you otherwise.

Some things to bear in mind for future.....

Closed contracts with nothing ever paid on them (or refunded contracts) will harm your JSS

Open contracts with nothing ever paid on them for a period of time (2+ months) can harm your JSS

Closing a whole bunch of contracts all at the same time with no feedback could also harm JSS

VladimirG
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Mykhailo,