🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » The customer cancel the order without paying
Page options
9ce22baa
Community Member

The customer cancel the order without paying

Hello freelancers,

I'm new to Upwork, and I need your advice. The situation is as follows: I was hired on an hourly contract for urgent work (audio mixing for video). In the project that the customer sent, some audio fragments were muted. After I sent the ready order, the client complained that there were not all audios in the mix. After that, I returned to the project and returned them, but not all of them as I was in a hurry because the client was pushing me. Since I was in a hurry, I also made a couple of mistakes when exporting the file (incorrect format and the same file name on revisited file). After that, the client asked me to stop and terminate the contract without paying for my working hours. Also, after that, I lost my "rising talent" badge.

I admit that I didn't do my job perfectly because of the speed, but is the wrong format and the wrong file name a reason to terminate the contract rigidly? After my comment about the muted audio, the client did not even check what he sent me and, as I understand it, concluded that I was not competent in what I was doing.

What should I do in this situation?

Thank you for your time and help,
Andrejs

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
tlbp
Community Member

New to Upwork and taking on urgent jobs is a dangerous mix (you can probably see why in hindsight). If you billed hour hours using the time tracker and followed the steps necessary for hourly payment protection, you should get paid for your time. If you are relying on manual time, the client may refuse to pay. (You can also delete the hours if you feel that the client should not have to pay for the work because it was not up to standard.)