🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: The problem everyone has. What to do?
Page options
8432241f
Community Member

The problem everyone has. What to do?

The problem everyone has. What to do?

I'm a photo and video editor expert. Besides, I'm very interested in design and thumbnail creation. I have sent many proposals, but the hiring rate is so low. A lot of clients require so much to test my ability. They still complimented me, but in the end, they still couldn't create a working contract (mostly). Now, I have fourteen connections left until the end of the month (in my case, five more days). I must be very picky about which jobs to bid on. I like to keep a little in case a dream job pops up in the next day or two.

What do you do when you encounter this problem? How do you choose where to bid? Do you keep any?

36 REPLIES 36
williamtcooper
Community Member

Nguyen,

Congrats on joining Upwork! You have done well to have already completed a job especially in your category. You are in a job category with an average number of jobs, but with an extreme amount of competition because this is typically considered an entry to intermediate job. Increasing your skill set to an Expert level is your best chance for longterm freelancing. Thanks!

Thank you for your advice, so I will try day by day to improve my skill. On the other hand, is there any job with low competition that makes it easier for me to win a contract?

Projects that require many years of education/training/experience have the least competition; there aren't any shortcuts to becoming an expert.

Nguyen,

Improving everyday is absolutely the way to go. I am an Expert, however continue to learn new things daily because today's Expert will to be tomorrows Intermediate without improvements.

Do a Google search on "In demand Upwork skills". Have a wonderful day!

bobafett999
Community Member

Aren't you the guy who gives free samples?