🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » This verified company just scammed me out of ...
Page options
davenport71
Community Member

This verified company just scammed me out of $3100

I am brand new to upwork. I accepted a propsal to **Edited for Community Guidelines** company. The short of it is they show as a verified plus client. They just scammed me out of $3100!!!

They told me I needed to get equipment to do the work. I should have KNOWN, however I've never done this and just didn't think about it until I was half way in! I know.....stupid. Nevertheless, it's happened.

How do I report this to upwork?? I'm not finding the option. Please help! 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

Whoops!

Clearly "verified company" doesn't mean what you thought it meant.

re: "How do I report this to Upwork?"

This company has probably ALREADY been reported, but in case it hasn't:

Go to the job posting page.

Click on the "Flag as inappropriate" link button located in the top right corner or under the "Three Dots" icon.

Select the option:

Screen Shot 2021-06-07 at 11.45.56 AM.png

In the freeform text box, add a sentence about the client sending you a check for equipment. You don't need to say much. This is the most common scam on Upwork, so the Upwork workers who receive your report will know what to do.

You won't get your money back, but if the job hasn't already been taken down by Upwork, you will be helping others by reporting this.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
prestonhunter
Community Member

Whoops!

Clearly "verified company" doesn't mean what you thought it meant.

re: "How do I report this to Upwork?"

This company has probably ALREADY been reported, but in case it hasn't:

Go to the job posting page.

Click on the "Flag as inappropriate" link button located in the top right corner or under the "Three Dots" icon.

Select the option:

Screen Shot 2021-06-07 at 11.45.56 AM.png