🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » This whole experience feels sketchy
Page options
sausy20o
Community Member

This whole experience feels sketchy

I am new to Upwork in that I have been on the platform for a couple of months but have yet to land an appropriate project. I keep getting invitations to submit proposals for projects that are either wildly inappropriate for my profile or from employers who seem sketchy. Today I got a request to send in my passport data as the first step in the interview. To me, that sends a red flag! Alternatively, I receive nothing from proposals that I choose to submit that seem relevant for my experience and skills. 

Am I misinterpreting or missing something?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Sandra,

I've checked and it looks like the action has been taken on the client account because of the violation of Upwork TOS.

Please be careful not to share any private or sensitive information with clients on Upwork. All the information needed to hire and pay you via Upwork is available on your profile. Please check this help article for more information on how to use the flag option found on each job post or message to report any suspicious or inappropriate content. Also, check out this post for more tips on how to avoid questionable jobs.

Thank you!

~ Bojan
Upwork

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Sandra A wrote:

I am new to Upwork in that I have been on the platform for a couple of months but have yet to land an appropriate project. I keep getting invitations to submit proposals for projects that are either wildly inappropriate for my profile or from employers who seem sketchy. Today I got a request to send in my passport data as the first step in the interview. To me, that sends a red flag! Alternatively, I receive nothing from proposals that I choose to submit that seem relevant for my experience and skills.